RCRC Movement

Home  /  RCRC Movement

The International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movements

The International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement is the world’s largest humanitarian network. The Movement is neutral and impartial, and provides protection and assistance to people affected by disasters and conflicts.)

The Movement is made up of nearly 100 million members, volunteers and supporters in 186 National Societies. It has three main components:

  • The International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC)
  • The International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (IFRC)
  • 186 member Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (Including Pakistan Red Crescent Society)

As partners, the different members of the Movement support communities in becoming stronger and safer through a variety of development projects and humanitarian activities. The Movement also works in cooperation with governments, donors and other aid organizations to assist vulnerable people around the world.

The ICRC, the Federation and the National Societies are independent bodies. Each has its own individual status and exercises no authority over the others.

The Movement has its own web site, with detailed sections on the history of the Movement, the emblem issue, the International Conference, and Red Cross Red Crescent magazine online.

Click here for read full overview.


Seven Fundamental Principles