Emblem Awareness

Home  /  Emblem Awareness

The emblems of the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement, under the Geneva Conventions, are to be placed on humanitarian and medical vehicles and buildings to protect them from military attack on the battlefield. There are three emblems: the Red Cross, the Red Crescent, and the Red Crystal.

Use of the emblems:

  • Facilities for the care of injured and sick armed forces members;
  • Armed forces medical personnel and equipment;
  • Military chaplains;
  • International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement organizations such as the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC), the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (IFRC), and the 186 national Red Cross and Red Crescent societies including Pakistan Red Crescent Society (PRCS).


The IFRC works with the ICRC and all National Societies including PRCS to protect the emblems against misuse and abuse, as it is essential that they stand unchallenged as symbols of neutral and independent assistance at all times, and as guarantees of protection in times of conflict or emergency.  Governments have accepted an obligation to prevent misuse and abuse, and in many countries the misuse or abuse of the emblems can lead to prosecution.

For further details please contact:-

PRCS Sindh Provincial Branch,
Hilal-e Ahmar House, Main Clifton Road, Karachi
Tel: 021-35306227, 35306228, 35306229
Fax: 021-35830376
E-mail: info@prcsindh.org.pk

Seven Fundamental Principles